Diary of an Unsmug Married - Polly James

Source: Courtesy of Avon

Review:

Right so this is hard. I will give you the start of my review notes, from them you will see why I will not be finishing Diary of an Unsmug Married by Polly James. 

 

When I read I like to read everything. Sad I know, but I always have. Polly James has one of the best author intro's ever. Quick, factual, interesting & witty. Her acknowledgements are also straight to the point, with James's sense of humour rife throughout. This makes me happy, you can tell a lot from an author intro to how the book will be. Hopefully I'm not wrong.

 

Diary books can be very jumpy and read like a script. This reads like a diary which boosts it up a bit.

 

Molly is very dramatic, which makes you want to continue to read about her shenanigans.

 

Oops! Did he really just say or more so did you really just write that every pound paid in tax goes directly to Liverpool to be spent on shell suits!?

1) That is a disgraceful stereotype to say that all of Liverpool claim benefits.

2) As a constituency member under this fucking coalition government should really sympathathize with my city right now as the cuts are destroying it, including my sons education!

3) You are mistaking Liverpool for the Wirral and widnes were shell suits still make an appearance.

4) Don't even in jest take the piss like that out of my city. You will on fact lose mine and every Scouse womans fictions readers interest at that point.

 

 

 

I think this has hit hard because James is a caseworker in life as well as an author. So she should and would understand the situation within Liverpool & places in the same circumstances right now. If a constituency worker is going to pen a novel, but keep the job she does as the heroines job, then she needs to be extremely careful. I find it very careless and it's put me right off.

 

 I will not be finishing the book or giving it a review score.

Blurb:

What happens to love when life gets in the way?A funny and perceptive book about real relationships. Perfect for fans of Dawn French, Sue Townsend and Bridget Jones’ Diary.

 

Meet Molly Bennett. Married to Max and mother to two warring teenagers, she’s just ‘celebrated’ a significant birthday. Bridget Jones would call Molly a “smug married”. So why doesn’t she feel it?

 

Is it because everyone seems to be having a better time of it than her? Or is it that Max has started showing more interest in ‘business trips’ and less interest in their sex life? Molly begins to despair. And then an old school friend starts flirting with her through Facebook …

The Book Geek Wears Pajamas